GRF Ambassadors

GRF Ambassadors are a national leadership group of eye doctors dedicated to ensuring that all glaucoma patients have access to the information they need to care for their vision. They advocate for patients, assist with the development of learning materials, and make patient education a key component within their practices.

Why Education Matters

GRF Ambassador Oluwatosin Smith, MD, explains how understanding glaucoma and the growing array of care options available empowers her patients to preserve and protect their sight.

  • Video Transcript
  • Video Transcript
    Spacing: medium
    Spacing: medium

    The Value of Patient Education

    Person With Light Bulb
    Improving Understanding

    of one’s medical condition, diagnosis, and disease

    of methods and means to manage multiple aspects of glaucoma

    Person With Heart
    Improved Self-Advocacy

    when working in cooperation with one’s doctor

    Note Pad And Pen
    Increased Compliance

    Effective communication and patient education increases patient motivation to comply

    Thumbs Up
    Patient Outcomes

    Patients are more likely to respond well to their treatment plan with fewer complications

    Hands Shaking
    Informed Consent

    Patients feel the doctor has provided the information they need

    Satisfaction and Referrals

    Patients are more likely to stay with the doctor’s practice and refer other patients

    Stylized Illustration Map Of The United States
    Find Ambassadors

    See a map of where Glaucoma Research Foundation Ambassadors are located.

    Spacing: medium


    Spacing: small

    Sahar Bedrood, MD, PhD
    Chair, GRF Ambassadors
    Los Angeles, CA

    Stuart F. Ball, MD
    Mobile, Alabama

    Robert J. Barnes, MD
    Glen Ellyn, Illinois

    Arpine Barsegian, MD
    Fountain Valley, CA

    Michael S. Berlin, MD
    Beverly Hills, California

    Amanda Kiely Bicket, MD, MSE
    Ann Arbor, Michigan

    Kathryn Bollinger, MD
    Augusta, Georgia

    Courtney Bovee, MD
    Clearwater, Florida

    Ninita Brown, MD, PhD
    Atlanta, Georgia

    Steven V.L. Brown, MD, FACS
    Glenview, Illinois

    Dean Carlson, MD
    Colorado Springs, Colorado

    John S. Cohen, MD
    Cincinnati, Ohio

    E. Randy Craven, MD
    Baltimore, Maryland

    Rachel Davis, MD, MS
    Albuquerque, New Mexico

    Robert J. Derick, MD
    Dublin, Ohio

    Amish Doshi, MD
    Antioch, California

    Doreen Fazio, MD
    Van Nuys, California

    Robert Feldman, MD
    Houston, Texas

    Laura C. Fine, MD
    Boston, Mass.

    Gloria P. Fleming, MD
    Columbus, Ohio

    Kathryn B. Freidl, MD
    Jacksonville, Florida

    Annette L. Giangiacomo, MD
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin

    David Gilbert, MD
    Walnut Creek, California

    Madhu S. Gorla, MD
    Glenview, Illinois

    Linda Greff, MD
    Cincinnati, Ohio

    Davinder Grover, MD, MPH
    Dallas, Texas

    Agnes Huang, MD
    Seattle, Washington

    Andrew G. Iwach, MD
    San Francisco, CA

    Dan Jewelewicz, MD
    Delray Beach, Florida

    Jay Katz, MD
    Philadelphia, Penn.

    Anup Khatana, MD
    Cincinnati, Ohio

    Douglas Kohl, MD
    Boca Raton, Florida

    Michael S. Korey, MD
    Chicago, Illinois

    Rohit Krishna, MD
    Overland Park, Kansas

    Rishi Kumar, MD
    Louisville, Kentucky

    Mark A. Latina, MD
    Reading, Mass.

    Linda Lawrence, MD
    Salina, Kansas

    Richard Lehrer, MD
    Alliance, Ohio

    Shan Lin, MD
    San Francisco, California

    Valentina Lozano, MD
    Los Angeles, California

    Charles McMahon, MD
    Parker, Colorado

    Anne Miller, MD
    Cheyenne, Wyoming

    Laurey Mogil, MD
    Brooklyn, New York

    Johann Ohly, MD
    Kansas City, Missouri

    Constance O. Okeke, MD, MSCE
    Norfolk, Virginia

    David J. Palmer, MD
    Chicago, Illinois

    Joseph Panarelli, MD
    New York, NY

    Terri-Diann Pickering, MD
    San Francisco, CA

    Jody Piltz-Seymour, MD
    Huntingdon Valley, PA

    James Plotnik, MD, FACS
    Scottsdale, Arizona

    Andrew Prince, MD
    New York, New York

    Lorraine M. Provencher, MD
    Omaha, NE

    Andrew Rabinowitz, MD
    Phoenix, Arizona

    Sunita Radhakrishnan, MD
    San Francisco, CA

    George Reiss, MD
    Glendale, Arizona

    David Richardson, MD
    San Marino, California

    Ahmara Gibbons Ross, MD, PhD
    Philadelphia, PA

    Michael Sakamoto, MD
    Sacramento, California

    Sarwat Salim, MD, FACS
    Boston, Massachusetts

    Thomas W. Samuelson, MD
    Minneapolis, Minnesota

    Keith Sanford, MD
    San Antonio, Texas

    Sonja W. Schluter, MD, MPH
    Sonoma, California

    Arthur L. Schwartz, MD
    Chevy Chase, Maryland

    Gail F. Schwartz, MD
    Baltimore, Maryland

    My Le Shaw, MD
    Fenton, Michigan

    Rajesh Shetty, MD
    Jacksonville, Florida

    Sandra Sieminski, MD
    Buffalo, New York

    Inder Paul Singh, MD
    Racine & Kenosha, Wisconsin

    Oluwatosin Smith, MD
    Dallas, Texas

    Michael Stiles, MD
    Overland Park, Kansas

    Shigemi Sugiki, MD
    Honolulu, Hawaii

    Thomas Tayeri, MD
    Palo Alto, CA

    Sarah H. Van Tassel, MD
    Ithaca, New York

    Zak Vest, MD
    Englewood, CO

    Steven Vold, MD
    Fayetteville, AR

    Monisha Vora, MD
    Philadelphia, PA

    Brian Welcome, MD
    Greenville, SC

    Mark Werner, MD
    Delray Beach, FL

    Ruth Williams, MD
    Wheaton, IL

    Jeffrey Zink, MD
    Cincinnati, Ohio



    Martin B. Kaback, MD
    Slingerlands, NY (retired)

    William E. Layden, MD
    Tampa, FL (retired)

    Richard A. Lewis, MD
    Sacramento, CA

    Steve Litinsky, MD
    Delray Beach, FL (retired)

    Carl Migliazzo, MD
    Overland Park, KS (retired)

    Kevin Miller, MD
    Las Vegas, NV (retired)

    Cindy Penzler, MD
    Topeka, Kansas (retired)

    Bradley Schuster, MD
    Denver, Colorado

    Kuldev Singh, MD, MPH
    Stanford University

    Donald Schwartz, MD
    Long Beach, CA (retired)

    Charles Eric Shrader, MD
    Wichita, Kansas (retired)